1919 – Second Meeting of the first Dail.

(First meeting 21 January) At this meeting Éamon De Valera is elected President and Michael Collins, Minister for Finance. Other appointments for a parliament that was not recognised by England were:

Minister for Home Affairs Arthur Griffith

Minister for Foreign Affairs Count Plunkett

Minister for Defence Cathal Brugha

Minister for Labour Constance Markiewicz

Minister for Local Government W. T. Cosgrave

Minister for Industries Eoin MacNeill

Minister for Irish Seán T. O’Kelly



Posted by

Stair na hÉireann is steeped in Ireland's turbulent history, culture, ancient secrets and thousands of places that link us to our past and the present. With insight to folklore, literature, art, and music, you’ll experience an irresistible tour through the remarkable Emerald Isle.