1937 – Birth of Morgan Llywelyn.

Morgan Llywelyn (born 3 December 1937) is an American-born Irish author best known for her historical fantasy, historical fiction, and historical non-fiction. Her fiction has received several awards and has sold more than 40 million copies, and she herself is recipient of the 1999 Exceptional Celtic Woman of the Year Award from Celtic Women International.


Morgan Llywelyn now lives outside of Dublin, and has become an Irish citizen.

Some novels and short fiction collections:

1978 The Wind from Hastings
1980 Lion of Ireland
1983 The Horse Goddess
1984 Bard: The Odyssey of the Irish
1984 Personal Habits
1986 Grania: She-King of the Irish Seas
1987 Xerxes
1989 The Isles of the Blest
1989 Red Branch
1990 Brian Boru: Emperor of the Irish
1989 On Raven’s Wing
1991 Druids
1992 The Last Prince of Ireland: A Novel
1992 O’Sullivan’s March
1993 The Elementals
1993 Star Dancer
1994 Finn Mac Cool
1995 Cold Places
1995 Ireland: A Graphic History (with Michael Scott)
1995 Silverhand (Arcana, Book 1) (with Michael Scott)
1996 19 Railway Street (with Michael Scott)
1996 The Vikings in Ireland
1996 Strongbow: The Story of Richard & Aoife
1996 Silverlight (Arcana, Book 2) (with Michael Scott)
1996 Pride of Lions
1998 1916, A Novel Of the Irish Rebellion
1999 The Essential Library for Irish Americans
2000 Etruscans (with Michael Scott)
2000 A Pocket History of Irish Rebels
2000 The Earth Is Made Of Stardust
2001 1921, The War for Independence
2001 Granuaile, The Pirate Queen
2003 1949, The Irish Republic
2005 1972, A Novel of Ireland’s Unfinished Revolution
2006 The Greener Shore: A Novel of the Druids of Hibernia
2006 Pirate Queen
2006 The Young Rebels
2006 The History of Irish Rebels
2006 The Vikings in Ireland
2008 1999 – A Novel of the Celtic Tiger and the Search for Peace
2010 Brendan – The Remarkable Life and Voyage of Brendan of Clonfert
2013 After Rome



Posted by

Stair na hÉireann is steeped in Ireland's turbulent history, culture, ancient secrets and thousands of places that link us to our past and the present. With insight to folklore, literature, art, and music, you’ll experience an irresistible tour through the remarkable Emerald Isle.